All the latest industry news

Stay up-to-date on everything happening in the industry. Get updates about changes to rules and regulations, answers to common questions, and more.

May 11

BBS allows scanned forms

The BBS has always required original forms with wet signatures to be submitted with the application for licensure.  The BBS hosted a FB Live session on Friday, May 8.  During this session they stated that scanned forms will be accepted during the COVID-19 pandemic.   What does this mean?  You can email your experience verification form … Continued

Continue reading >

May 7

California DCA issues a waiver allowing video supervision for MFT Trainees, AMFTs, APCCs & ASWs

Update May 8, 2020 – The BBS has provided additional guidance, stating that real-time video supervision is acceptable from March 4, 2020 (the date of the Governor’s initial state of emergency declaration) forward.  The California DCA has issued a waiver allowing BBS registrants (MFT Trainees, AMFTs, APCCs and ASWs) in all work settings to receive … Continued

Continue reading >

May 5

Is face-to-face supervision still required on a weekly basis?

UPDATED May 6, 2020 The California DCA has issued a waiver allowing BBS registrants (MFT Trainees, AMFTs, APCC and ASWs) in all work settings to receive two-way, real-time video supervision as of May 6, 2020.  The relevant sections of the waiver are pasted below. Prior to this waiver face-to-face supervision was required in any setting … Continued

Continue reading >

April 25

Telehealth Waivers Related to COVID-19

Two BBS waivers are in place. They include: • Waiving examination and continuing education requirements for current health care licensees. • Waiving reinstatement requirements for inactive, retired, and canceled health care licensees

Continue reading >

January 1

90 day rule change

A new law affects individuals graduating on or after January 1, 2020. These applicants may only count post-degree hours of experience gained under the “90-day rule” if the workplace required the applicant to complete Live Scan fingerprinting prior to gaining those hours.  Make sure you retain a copy of your completed employer-required Live Scan Fingerprint … Continued

Continue reading >

December 2

Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention Requirement

Per the BBS ( there is a new requirement regarding suicide risk assessment and intervention training starting January 1, 2021.  This requirement applies to both new licensees as well as renewals… Effective January 1, 2021, applicants for licensure for each of the Board’s four license types (LMFT, LEP, LCSW, and LPCC), as well as all … Continued

Continue reading >

September 20

Changes to experience requirements for LCSWs coming Jan 1, 2019 (AB 456)

The Governor has signed AB-456 which will make a number of positive changes to the experience requirements for LCSWs effective January 1, 2019.  TYH will be updated with the new requirements on January 1.  Here is a summary of the changes: The total number of hours of experience required  for LCSW licensure is being reduced from 3,200 … Continued

Continue reading >

August 29

BBS updates

The BBS has taken a formal position to support AB2943 which would make Sexual Orientation Change Efforts an unlawful business practice. California Assembly Bill 1436 would mandate six hours of suicide prevention training for master’s-level mental health professionals.

Continue reading >

August 29

Change to how the Initial License Expiration Date is Calculated

The BBS has changed the way they calculate the license expiration date for licensees who receive their license on or after May 23, 2018.  Going forward the method used to calculate the initial expiration date for new licensees is simply two years in the future on the last day of the month the license was … Continued

Continue reading >

August 29

90 Day Rule for CSWs

The Governor has signed Assembly Bill 456, which will allow CSWs to use the “90-day rule”.  From January 1, 2019 forward if a CSW applies for an associate number within 90 days of graduating, all post-degree hours (even those logged prior to receipt of the associate number) may be claimed toward licensure.

Continue reading >

Start your free, 30-day trial today.

Get world-class support on your journey to licensure.

Start My Free Trial